Gaetano Cozzi Prize for studies on history of games

call for submissions, third year – 2018

As part of its research programme started in 1987 on games, festive events, sports and leisure activities in general up to the outbreak of World War II, the Fondazione Benetton Studi Ricerche has launched two annual awards of 3,000 Euros each for young scholars.


Although a recent initiative, the awards continue in the tradition of the Foundation, which over thirty years has assigned more than 70 scholarships to graduates over a broad range of academic levels. Started in 1988 in memory of Stefano Benetton, the scholarships were, from 2001 to 2015, dedicated to Gaetano Cozzi, the illustrious scholar, Selection board chairman until 2000, and driving force behind the initiative until his death in 2001.


The award for unpublished essays is also dedicated to the memory of Gaetano Cozzi. Chaired by Gherardo Ortalli, the Selection board is made up of directors of the journal «Ludica. Annali di storia e civiltà del gioco». The regulations governing the award for unpublished essays are available in pdf format in different languages on this same site.



The Gaetano Cozzi Prize is currently being reorganized. The previously announced schedule has therefore been altered, as follows:

the deadline for the delivery or despatch of submissions is now 15th June 2019;

the winners will be announced no later than 15th September;

the award ceremony and the associated public meeting will take place in October.

The winners of the first edition 2017

Guillaume Bureaux, Pas d’armes, littérature et théâtre à la cour du Saint-Empire: l’exemple de la tournée d’abdication de Charles Quint et des festivités de Binche (25-26 août 1549) 

Umberto Cecchinato, Tra concessione e divieto: le politiche di differenziazione sociale nel gioco d’azzardo a Treviso, secoli XII–XV


mention for

Vincenzo Tedesco«So, e credo, che non sia lecito, ma l’avidità del denaro mi spinse a far quanto ho deposto». Inquisizione romana e sortilegi per vincere al gioco d’azzardo

The winners of the first edition 2016

Patrizia Giamminuti, Il Gioco dell’Oca: una proposta iconografica

Andreas Hermann Fischer, A Remedy for the Weary Mind. Intellectuals and Play in the Middle Ages


mention for

Mark Kaethler, Jean Barbier and Thomas Middleton Rewrite the Rules of Chess